Story on the Wall

Wallflower of the Party

IMG_4570
“We Are What We Pretend to Be” by Nate Frizzell

No, you don’t know me. You must have mistaken me for somebody else.

No, I don’t know you. And probably I don’t even know most of the people in this room. I just came here because I had to. Well, I thought I had to. Clearly enough now, I should have stayed at home like I’ve planned. But it’s okay. I’ll just stay here so I wouldn’t miss out.

Why I thought I had to come here? I don’t know. My friends told me to come along. That’s just that. And from what I can see right now, they’re  all having a good time.

It’s okay. I mean, I barely come with them when going out with them means I have to deal with other people. Most days, it’s just us.

They did introduce me to some of their friends here. And I did try to get to know them… Somehow. It always ends up not having anything to talk about.

A while ago they did invite me on the dance floor. I just stood there. I didn’t know what to do until I found my way out and found the comfort of this corner. And from here I watch them express themselves in every movement. It’s like their inner magic just burst out of their bodies. The kind of magic that I don’t think I have. I’ve never seen them so alive.

What do you mean what kind of inner magic do I have?

Well, I’m not sure. All I know is that we are all different. Just like how every one of us reacts differently in every beat of the music. Some will dance, some will just listen.  We share the same moment of “now” but differ on how we see it and imbibe it.

Obviously, I’m the listening type. But then again, I think I enjoy watching the people along with the music more than just listening. Seeing my friends take a much-needed break from the stress in their lives. We all need that once in a while.

How about you? Why are you here?

And what’s your name?

Leave a Reply

